Finding the Data

As well as campaigning for Canadian extractive companies to publish their payments, PWYP-Canada supports civil society world-wide in accessing that data and developing different ways to use it.

FindingDatacropped

PWYP-Canada has regularly hosted trainings, most recently in Trinidad & Tobago and Canada itself, but also in Cameroon, Tanzania and Zimbabwe, to support civil society and other stakeholders, including journalists and government officials, in how to use and access extractive information. In these sessions, PWYP-Canada has raised awareness about why it is useful for civil society in resource-rich countries to gain access to extractive payments, as well as trained participants in how to use and access this data via SEDAR, Canada’s securities disclosure website. As well as looking at existing data, PWYP-Canada also covers the current mandatory disclosures campaign to prepare members for the impending data that will come out of the EU Transparency & Accounting Directives, Dodd-Frank 1504 and eventually Canadian disclosure itself.

PWYP-Canada has also supported other civil society groups in a bilateral manner helping them access specific information about Canadian extractive companies. For instance they provided information to PWYP Chad about Griffiths, a Canadian company that had been charged for bribing a Chadian ambassador, and helped PWYP Kyrgyzstan identify useful information published by Centerra, a Canadian company operating in the country.

Extractives Abroad Project

In 2012, PWYP-Canada created portfolios on Canadian mining companies with operations in Africa ranging from the exploration to the production level. The portfolios contain some of the most useful information that the companies have disclosed, either through securities disclosure documents or voluntary reporting. They provide readers with a more easily accessible source of information that can enable them to better understanding the Canadian mining companies operating in their countries, while at the same time increasing their awareness of the type of information that can be found in Canadian securities disclosure documents.

To view the portfolios, visit the Canadian Mining in Africa section of the website.

As an accompaniment, PWYP-Canada also developed a manual to provide civil society organizations with a basic understanding of the information that can be found in Canadian security disclosure documents, as well as information on how to access that information. The manual is now available in both French and English and was presented to other PWYP coalitions and members from around the world.

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Trouver les données

En plus de faire campagne en faveur de la publication de leurs paiements par les sociétés extractives canadiennes, PCQVP-Canada aide la société civile partout dans le monde à avoir accès à ces données et à mettre au point diverses façons de les utiliser.

FindingDatacropped

PCQVP-Canada a organisé périodiquement des formations, récemment à Trinité-et-Tobago et au Canada, mais aussi au Cameroun, en Tanzanie et au Zimbabwe, pour aider la société civile et d'autres intervenants, y compris des journalistes et des responsables gouvernementaux, à avoir accès aux renseignements relatifs à l'extraction et à les utiliser. Au cours de ces sessions, PCQVP-Canada a sensibilisé les participants à l'utilité, pour la société civile des pays riches en ressources, d'un accès à ces données et de leur utilisation par l'entremise du SEDAR, le site Web du Canada pour la déclaration des valeurs mobilières. En plus de se pencher sur les données existantes, PCQVP-Canada couvre aussi la campagne actuelle en faveur de la déclaration obligatoire pour préparer les membres aux données qui seront prochainement disponibles en raison de l'application des directives sur la transparence et de la directive comptable de l'UE, de l'article 1504 de la loi Dodd-Frank  et, à terme, de la déclaration canadienne elle-même.

PCQVP-Canada a aussi appuyé, de manière bilatérale, d'autres groupes de la société civile pour leur permettre d'avoir accès à des renseignements particuliers au sujet des sociétés extractives canadiennes. Par exemple, l'organisme a fourni des renseignements à PCQVP Tchad au sujet de Griffiths, une société canadienne qui avait été accusée de verser un pot-de-vin à un ambassadeur tchadien, et a aidé Tree of Life, un membre de PCQVP, à repérer l'information utile publiée par Centerra, une société canadienne exerçant des activités au Kirghizistan.

Projet relatif aux sociétés extractives canadiennes à l'étranger

À titre d'accompagnement, PCQVP-Canada a aussi élaboré un manuel afin de permettre aux organisations de la société civile d'acquérir une compréhension fondamentale des renseignements qu'on trouve dans les documents de déclaration sur les valeurs mobilières canadiennes et de leur fournir des moyens d'obtenir cette information. Ce manuel est maintenant disponible en français et en anglais; il a été présenté à d'autres coalitions de PCQVP et à leurs membres partout dans le monde.

 

FaLang translation system by Faboba