Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative

The Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) is a global standard that promotes open, accountable and inclusive management of natural resources. It is a tripartite initiative which involves governments, civil society and extractive companies. Governments who sign up to the initiative pledge to publish the payments they receive from extractive companies - as well as certain other relevant information such as subnational transfers - and have extractive companies operating in their jurisdiction publish the payments they make. The findings are then collated in a report which is distributed throughout the country to inform debate and a better management of natural resources. The Publish What You Pay coalition was instrumental to the launch of the initiative and continues to both challenge and support it at the international and national level. Currently, the EITI is being implemented by more than 45 countries, more than 30 of which are compliant with EITI requirements.

EITI-Countries-ENresized

Map of EITI countries, including up-to-date facts and figures, is available from the EITI website.

Canada and the EITI

The Government of Canada announced its support for the EITI in February 2007 and maintains this support through ongoing funding and active participation in the EITI board. 

However, PWYP-Canada urges the government to go beyond supporter status and start implementing the initiative. Canada’s membership - as a northern resource-rich country - would solidify EITI’s status as a truly global initiative. Furthermore, it would complement the passage of the Extractive Sector Transparency Measures Act whereby Canadian extractive companies are obliged to publish their payments.

Implementing the EITI in Canada, at the Federal and/or provincial levels, through its multistakeholder process, would not only promote a more transparent management of natural resources at home but also provide an important forum for an informed debate about crucial domestic extractive issues, from land rights to oil sands to tax rates. 

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives

L'Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives (ITIE) est une norme mondiale qui fait la promotion d’une gestion ouverte, responsable et inclusive des ressources naturelles. Il s’agit d’une initiative tripartite réunissant des gouvernements, la société civile et des sociétés extractives. Les gouvernements qui adhèrent à l’initiative s’engagent à publier les paiements qu’ils reçoivent des sociétés extractives – ainsi que certains autres renseignements pertinents tels que les transferts infranationaux – et à obliger les sociétés extractives qui relèvent de leur compétence à publier les paiements qu’elles font. Les constatations sont ensuite réunies dans un rapport diffusé à l’échelle du pays pour éclairer le débat et une meilleure gestion des ressources naturelles. La coalition Publiez ce que vous payez a joué un rôle dans le lancement de l’initiative et continue à la fois de la mettre au défi et de l’appuyer à l’échelle internationale et nationale. À l’heure actuelle, plus de 45 pays sont à mettre en œuvre l’ITIE; plus de 30 de ces pays respectent les exigences ITIE.

EITI-Countries-FRresized

 

Cette carte, avec plus d'informations, est disponible sur le site de l'ITIE. 

Le Canada et l’ITIE

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé son appui à l’ITIE en février 2007; il maintient ce soutien par l’entremise d’un financement permanent et d’une participation active au conseil de l’ITIE.

Toutefois, PCQVP-Canada prie le gouvernement de ne pas se contenter de soutenir l’initiative, mais de commencer à la mettre en œuvre. L’adhésion du Canada – à titre de pays nordique riche en ressources – consoliderait la situation de l’ITIE à titre d’initiative véritablement mondiale. En outre, elle cadrerait avec l’adoption de la Loi sur les mesures de transparence dans le secteur extractif en vertu de laquelle les sociétés extractives canadiennes seront tenues de publier leurs paiements.

La mise en œuvre de l’ITIE au Canada, aux échelons fédéral ou provinciaux, permettrait, grâce à son processus multipartite, non seulement de favoriser une gestion transparente des ressources naturelles au pays, mais aussi d’offrir une tribune importante pour un débat éclairé au sujet des enjeux nationaux déterminants en matière d’extraction, allant des droits fonciers aux taux d’imposition, en passant par les sables bitumineux.

 

 

FaLang translation system by Faboba