Contract Transparency

PWYP-Canada advocates for the disclosure of the contracts signed between extractive companies and host governments. Contracts provide essential information for citizens and civil society to ascertain whether they are getting a fair deal for their resources, and also to be able to monitor whether both the government and companies are respecting their obligations (as contracts often include information such as environmental protection measures and information on land use and rights). For companies, disclosing contracts can help increase trust while clarifying their obligations towards a community promotes a better relationship. 

Any oil, gas or mining company that is publicly listed in Canada must already comply to a certain degree of contract disclosure as they are required to publish any ‘material’ contract on which their business is substantially dependent and represents the majority of the company’s business (50% or more).This current requirement requires a higher degree of transparency for junior extractive companies, as they are more likely to focus on a single project or on a handful of projects, increasing the likelihood of a project comprising over 50% of their business. Larger multinational companies are less likely to be required to disclose contracts given that they often have a multitude of projects worldwide.

Contract Disclosure around the world

The map below shows where extractive contracts have been published. A dark grey marker means that contracts were published by the host government, a light grey marker means that the contract was published through corporate disclosure or other.

 

Disclosing Canadian Contracts

PWYP-Canada worked with Open Oil to find contracts disclosed by Canadian extractive companies through their listings obligations. The project yielded 35 contracts, several of those from countries where contract information has hitherto been difficult to access, such as Chad, Colombia, Guatemala, Egypt, India, Kenya, Kazakhstan, Tanzania, Tunisia and Yemen. Although these contracts were legally disclosed, many of them had been considered secret until PWYP-Canada and Open Oil’s project. 

There may yet be some more of these contracts, the lack of an easy way to search across filings for oil and gas contracts mean that some may remain published but undiscovered. PWYP-Canada also discovered a lack of consistency over whether all required companies were correctly publishing extractive contracts.

This contracts hunt significantly contributed to the Open Oil repository of extractive contracts from around the world, which you can access here.

To learn more:

How to read and understand an oil contract

How to read and understand a mining contract

Explore Open Oil's contract repository  

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Transparence des contrats

PCQVP-Canada plaide en faveur de la divulgation des contrats signés entre les sociétés extractives et les gouvernements hôtes. La transparence des contrats est un outil important pour faire en sorte que les citoyens des pays riches en ressources aient accès à toute l’information sur les activités extractives pouvant leur permettre d’évaluer la valeur réelle d’un contrat. Elle permettra aussi aux citoyens de surveiller la réalisation de tels contrats puisqu’ils contiennent souvent des renseignements tels que les mesures de protection de l’environnement, de même que de l’information sur l’utilisation des sols et sur les droits fonciers. Dans le cas des entreprises, la déclaration des contrats peut les aider à susciter plus de confiance à leur égard; la précision de leurs obligations face à la collectivité favorise de meilleures relations.

Les exigences de divulgation canadiennes requièrent actuellement un certain degré de divulgation des contrats, à la suite des modifications apportées aux exigences de divulgation des valeurs canadiennes en 2008. Les sociétés inscrites aux bourses canadiennes sont tenues de divulguer dans leur intégralité les contrats qui représentent plus de 50 % du total de leur chiffre d’affaires. Cette exigence actuelle requiert un degré plus élevé de transparence de la part des petites sociétés extractives puisqu’elles sont portées à se concentrer sur un seul projet ou sur une poignée de projets, ce qui augmente la probabilité qu’un projet représente plus de 50 % de leur chiffre d’affaires. Les plus grandes sociétés multinationales sont moins susceptibles de devoir divulguer leurs contrats puisqu’elles ont souvent une multitude de projets dispersés dans le monde.

Divulgation de contrats autour du monde

Cette carte montre dans quels pays des contrats extractifs ont été publiés. Ceux en gris foncés démontre que la divulgation fut faite par le gouvernement. Ceux en gris clair démontre que la divulgation des contrats fut faite par la compagnie.

Déclaration des contrats canadiens

PCQVP-Canada a collaboré avec Open Oil pour repérer les contrats déclarés par les sociétés extractives canadiennes en vertu de leurs obligations d'inscription à la cote. Le projet a permis de relever 35 contrats, dont plusieurs de pays où l'information relative aux contrats était jusque-là difficile à obtenir, comme le Tchad, la Colombie, le Guatemala, l'Égypte, l'Inde, le Kenya, le Kazakhstan, la Tanzanie, la Tunisie et le Yémen. Bien que ces contrats aient été déclarés en vertu de la loi, bon nombre d'entre eux étaient considérés comme secrets avant le projet de PCQVP Canada et d'Open Oil.

Il existe peut-être encore d'autres contrats de ce genre; comme il n'y a pas de moyen qui permette de chercher facilement dans les contrats déclarés relatifs au pétrole et au gaz, il se peut que certains aient été publiés, mais non repérés. PCQVP-Canada a aussi constaté qu'il était difficile, en raison d'un manque d'uniformité, de déterminer si toutes les sociétés qui étaient tenues de publier leurs contrats d'extraction le faisaient dans les règles.

Cette recherche de contrats a contribué de façon significative au répertoire des contrats d'extraction d'Open Oil partout dans le monde, que vous pouvez consulter ici.

Pour en savoir plus

Contrats miniers - Comment les lire et les comprendre

Les contrats pétroliers à la portée de tous

 

FaLang translation system by Faboba