Beneficial Ownership

Who really owns companies, and why is it important? 

Anony and opaque company ownership structures, facilitate corruption, money laundering and tax evasion to name a few.

It is a crucial issue in the extractive sector where anonymous company ownership makes it possible for government officials to award lucrative contracts to companies that turn out to be owned by relatives, friends, or even themselves. Not only is this evidently highly corrupt, but it means that contracts are not awarded to the best companies for the best price, therefore citizens end up with a job that is not carried out as well as it could have been and for a bad price.

In 2011 the Nigerian government sold an oil block to Shell and ENI for US $1.1 billion, the money was transferred by the government to a company called Malabu Oil and Gas, which turned out to belong to former Minister of Oil Dan Etete. That money belonged to, and was needed by, Nigerian citizens; they never saw a dollar of it.

The government of the Democratic Republic of Congo sold mining concessions, at an outrageously low price, to a company secretly owned by a personal friend of the Congolese President. Global Witness has estimated that the state - and by extension citizens - lost out on at least US $1.63 billion. DRC is one of the world’s poorest countries.

Several countries implementing the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative are doing a beneficial ownership pilot whereby they reveal the real owners of extractive companies operating in the country. In 2013 British Prime Minister David Cameron announced that the United Kingdom would create a public register of beneficial owners. 

PWYP Canada is calling for a publicly available centralized registry of the beneficial owners of all companies registered, listed, and operating in Canada, both provincially and federally.

 

 

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Propriété Effective

À qui appartiennent véritablement les entreprises, et pourquoi cela importe-t-il? 

La propriété anonyme des entreprises et les structures de propriété opaques facilitent, entre autres, la corruption, le blanchiment d'argent et l'évasion fiscale.

Il s'agit là d'une question cruciale dans le secteur de l'extraction, où la propriété anonyme des entreprises permet aux responsables gouvernementaux d'octroyer des contrats lucratifs à des sociétés qui se révèlent appartenir à des parents, des amis, voire aux responsables eux-mêmes. Non seulement cette façon de faire est-elle de toute évidence hautement corrompue, mais elle signifie que les contrats ne sont pas octroyés aux meilleures entreprises, au meilleur prix; les citoyens n'obtiennent donc pas un travail de la meilleure qualité possible, en plus de payer un prix trop élevé.

En 2011, le gouvernement du Nigeria a vendu un bloc pétrolier à Shell et ENI pour la somme de 1,1 milliard USD; le gouvernement a transféré l'argent à une société nommée Malabu Oil and Gas, qui s'est avérée appartenir à l'ancien ministre du Pétrole, Dan Etete. Cet argent appartenait aux citoyens du Nigeria, qui en avaient besoin; or, ils n'ont jamais touché le moindre dollar.

Le gouvernement de la République démocratique du Congo a vendu des concessions minières à un prix excessivement bas à une société appartenant secrètement à un ami personnel du président congolais. Global Witness a estimé que l'État – et de ce fait les citoyens – avait été privé d'au moins 1,63 milliard USD. La RDC est l'un des pays les plus pauvres du monde.

Plusieurs pays qui mettent en œuvre l'Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives exécutent un projet pilote portant sur la propriété bénéficiaire dans le cadre duquel ils révèlent les noms des vrais propriétaires des sociétés extractives qui exercent des activités dans le pays. En 2013, le premier ministre de la Grande-Bretagne, David Cameron, a annoncé que le Royaume-Uni créerait un registre public des propriétaires bénéficiaires.

PCQVP Canada préconise la création d'un registre central, accessible au public, de toutes les sociétés enregistrées, cotées et exerçant leurs activités au Canada, à l'échelle tant provinciale que fédérale.

FaLang translation system by Faboba