About Us

Working towards a world where natural resources become a blessing rather than a curse

Publish What You Pay Canada is part of a global network civil society organisations united in their call for oil, gas and mining revenues to form the basis for development and improve the lives of citizens in resource-rich countries. 

Some of the world’s poorest citizens live in countries that are rich in natural resources, but a lack of transparency around how their natural resources are managed has facilitated corruption, conflict and mismanagement. Too often natural resource wealth has benefited the few rather than the many, and for short-term gains rather than on long-term investments.

Greater transparency can help provide citizens with the valuable information they need to hold their governments to account for how their natural resource wealth is managed, and ensure that it is used sustainably and equitably.

Canada plays a particularly important role in this issue, not only being a resource-rich country itself but also being one of the biggest extractive players in the world. The country is home to 60% of the world’s mining companies and has interests in more than 8,000 exploration and mining properties in over 100 countries. In short, Canadian extractive companies affect the lives of millions. In 2008 PWYP-Canada, a coalition of Canadian civil society organizations, was launched in order to fight for a greater transparency in the extractive sector. Canada is a key arena in order for Publish What You Pay to realise its global vision of a world where natural resources benefit all citizens. 

PWYP-Canada today numbers 15 members and realises its work through advocacy, research and public outreach to promote and achieve enhanced disclosure of information about extractive industry operations, with an emphasis on revenues and contracts. 

Our Objectives

PWYP-Canada's core objective is to increase transparency in the extractives sector, both domestically and internationally, in order to enable citizens to hold their governments to account for how natural resource wealth is managed. Specifically, PWYP-Canada advocates for:

  • Extractive companies based in Canada to publish the payments they make to governments in the countries where they operate, on a disaggregated and project-by-project level;
  • Canada to implement the Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative (EITI);
  • Disclosure of all contracts, licenses and lease agreements in the oil, gas, and mining sectors.

In addition to this advocacy platform, PWYP-Canada also strives to build the capacity of its coalition members to access information on Canadian companies and to use this information in an effective manner in their advocacy, research and outreach efforts.

FaLang translation system by Faboba

À propos de nous

Vers un monde où les ressources naturelles soient une bénédiction plutôt qu'une malédiction 

Publiez Ce Que Vous Payez Canada fait partie d'un réseau mondial d'organisations de la société civile réunies pour réclamer que les recettes tirées de l'exploitation du pétrole, du gaz et des minerais fondent le développement et améliorent la vie des citoyens dans les pays riches en ressources naturelles.

Certaines des populations les plus pauvres du monde vivent dans des pays riches en ressources naturelles; or, un manque de transparence à l'égard de la gestion de leurs ressources naturelles a favorisé la corruption, le conflit et la mauvaise gestion. Les richesses naturelles ont trop souvent profité à de rares privilégiés plutôt qu'à l'ensemble de la population, et ont servi à accumuler des bénéfices à court terme plutôt qu'à investir à long terme.

Le Canada joue un rôle particulièrement important dans ce dossier, non seulement parce qu'il est lui-même un pays riche en ressources, mais aussi parce qu'il est un des plus gros intervenants mondiaux dans le secteur de l'extraction. Soixante pour cent des sociétés minières du monde ont leur siège au Canada et le pays détient des participations dans plus de 8 000 sociétés d'exploration et d'extraction dans plus de 100 pays. Bref, les activités des sociétés extractives canadiennes touchent des millions de personnes. En 2008, PCQVP-Canada, une coalition d'organisations de la société civile canadienne a vu le jour afin de militer en faveur d'une plus grande transparence dans le secteur de l'extraction. Le Canada est une tribune de premier plan pour permettre à Publiez ce que vous payez de concrétiser sa vision mondiale d'un monde où les ressources naturelles profitent à l'ensemble des citoyens.

PCQVP Canada compte aujourd'hui 15 membres et poursuit ses objectifs à travers des activités de plaidoyer en matière de politiques, de recherche et de sensibilisation du public visant à promouvoir et à instaurer une divulgation accrue de l'information concernant les activités de l'industrie extractive, en mettant un accent particulier sur les recettes et les contrats.

Nos objectifs

L’objectif fondamental de PCQVP-Canada est d’accroître la transparence dans le secteur de l’extraction, à l’échelle tant nationale qu’internationale, pour que les citoyens soient en mesure d’obliger leurs gouvernements à rendre compte de la façon dont les ressources naturelles sont gérées. Pour réaliser cet objectif, PCQVP-Canada plaide en faveur :

  • de la divulgation obligatoire des paiements effectués par les sociétés pétrolières, gazières et minières aux gouvernements hôtes, de façon détaillée et par projet;
  • de la mise en œuvre de l’Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives (ITIE) au Canada;
  • de la divulgation de tous les contrats, les permis et les accords dans les secteurs pétrolier, minier et gazier.

En plus d’animer cette plateforme de plaidoyer, PCQVP-Canada s’emploie à renforcer les capacités de ses coalitions membres afin qu’elles aient accès à l’information sur les sociétés canadiennes et qu’elles puissent utiliser efficacement cette information dans leurs activités de plaidoyer, de recherche et de sensibilisation.

FaLang translation system by Faboba